Author Topic: recommendation for cd player service/maintenance  (Read 1242 times)

Offline newbieforever

• Trade Count: (+13)
  • Collector
  • Please be kind.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
recommendation for cd player service/maintenance
« on: Oct 02, 2013 at 09:45 AM »
hi all! newbie here in need of some help.

recently purchased a cd/md deck (MARANTZ CM6000) from a fellow pdvd'er which i wanted to use as a cd transport (via optical out) as well as a DAC (monitor mode on MD deck). i absolutely love the unit particularly for the sound as well as its various possible uses (CD transport, CD player, ADC, DAC, MD Player/Recorder). unfortunately, here are a few issues i have encountered:

1.  CD not consistently reading.  reads MOST of the time but sometimes it gets stuck on "TOC READING". curiously, turning the unit off and on again (without removing the disc) usually solves it. research suggests cleaning and lubing the laser and mech could help.

2.  MD not reading at all. MD would go into player, display "TOC READING", and would eventually eject the MD. again, research suggests cleaning and lubing laser and mech. apparently need to make this work in order to put the player in MONITOR mode to use as a DAC (based on google translated japanese user manual).

is there a service center (preferably in the Alabang/Las Pinas/Paranaque area) that specializes in this sort of thing (ie. cleaning, lubing, and general restoration of older model cdps)? i can supply an english service manual (purchased online) which has a complete diagram.

thanks in advance for your time!

p.s. not exactly sure if this is the right thread to post this. :-)   

Offline synchro_01

• Trade Count: (+103)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 854
Re: recommendation for cd player service/maintenance
« Reply #1 on: Oct 02, 2013 at 12:50 PM »
Have the lens cleaned and see if it does the job. If not then it might need a new lens assembly. Try Love electronics in Sucat across Jaka building.