Author Topic: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement  (Read 32144 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline upstart

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« on: Apr 03, 2001 at 09:59 AM »
Anyone who goes to Amazon.com often already knows about this, but Warner Bros. and Columbia have been outfitting their newer DVDs with RCEs that prevent them from playing on Region-Free DVDs...has anyone here already been affected by this?
« Last Edit: Nov 19, 2003 at 10:24 AM by Kahon »

Offline Phobos

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,448
  • Forum Nazi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #1 on: Apr 03, 2001 at 05:57 PM »
Only minimally. I rented The Patriot DVD a few months ago and tried to play it in my machine (I own a Sony DVP-S320). I'm one of the unlucky few with Sony DVD players that can't play RCE discs. It's disappointing to shell out money to buy a multi-regioned player only to find out that Studios can come up with something like RCE to render a multi-regioned player useless.

Maybe if R3 manufacturers would put more effort in producing DVDs that would match their R1 counterparts, people like me wouldn't have to go to great lengths to order R1 DVDs.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline DVDiva

  • Kapitan
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,052
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #2 on: Apr 03, 2001 at 09:53 PM »
Hallooo upstart! There's a similar thread in the Home Theater forum that might answer your question, although it's more about which players are affected by RCE. Here's the link to the thread:

What type of DVD player do you own?

On a side note: if Columbia and Warner had really wanted RCE to succeed, they should've tested it on all available DVD player brands. Instead, it backfired on them, particularly Sony/Columbia, as now nobody will want to own a Sony DVD player.


Offline Phobos

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,448
  • Forum Nazi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #3 on: Apr 04, 2001 at 07:31 PM »
Komikero suggested that I contact my Sony dealer to see if they can modify my player so it can play RCE discs. Unfortunately, the dealer informed me that my unit is too old to be fixed by a simple modification procedure. I can either leave my player there for more than a week so they can replace almost all of the parts or I can buy a new DVD player.

I just hope the other studio manufacturers won't adopt this RCE thing and make it an industry standard.

Offline dexlab

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #4 on: Apr 10, 2001 at 10:42 AM »
phoebus,

you answered my question in one of the threads.

ganun ba? RCE? damn! which sony dealer you contacted about modifying your sony dvd player? i have a sony 345 DVD player and would like to watch my Patriot dvd.  :)
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
welcome and be amazed to the world of dexter's laboratory

Offline Phobos

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,448
  • Forum Nazi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #5 on: Apr 10, 2001 at 06:31 PM »
dexlab Down with RCE! ;D

However, I am hoping that if Columbia and Warner want RCE to work, they should make sure that R3 releases of their titles have the same quality in terms of features as the R1 releases.

I've seen the R3 releases of The Patriot & Charlie's Angels (Although I haven't bought them yet), and if the list of features can be believed, it's no different than the R1 release.

I just hope that this is the case for other RCE titles.

About your Sony Player, I suggest you contact the place from which you bought it. Your player is newer than mine, so you better hope that they can modify yours. Make sure that they know what RCE is, when I talked to my dealer, they thought that I just wanted my player modified so it can play discs from any regions.

You said in your other thread that you own a Pioneer DVD player. I suggest you sell your Sony player and keep the Pioneer.

Offline phlong

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #6 on: Apr 10, 2001 at 06:32 PM »
My Sony DVP-705D is codefree..and it doesn't play RCE DVDs... sold it..and bought a Pioneer DV 535 that has been "chipped". Unfortunately, I have to import the player.

Charlie's Angels and Patriot works fine now.



Quote

Anyone who goes to Amazon.com often already knows about this, but Warner Bros. and Columbia have been outfitting their newer DVDs with RCEs that prevent them from playing on Region-Free DVDs...has anyone here already been affected by this?
:( :( :( :( :( :( :(
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline Phobos

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,448
  • Forum Nazi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #7 on: Apr 10, 2001 at 06:41 PM »
phlong Good for you! I'm thinking about selling my Sony player as well and replacing it with a Pioneer player (preferably DV-535).

Why do you have to import the player? I see a lot of Pioneer players being sold locally for a reasonable price.

Offline phlong

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #8 on: Apr 10, 2001 at 07:04 PM »
The player has been "chipped" so the region coding could be manually set 1 -6. The default setting was 1.

Players on the shops are only codefree just like the one I had before.



« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline yagballs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2001 at 08:02 PM »
Was the Pioneer 535K already "chipped"  when you got it out of the box? Or did you have to have it manually "chipped"?

btw, what exactly does "chipped" mean?  :)
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline Phobos

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,448
  • Forum Nazi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
RCE Titles (partial list)
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2001 at 11:36 PM »

  • All The Pretty Horses
  • Dancer in the Dark
  • Hollow Man
  • The Patriot
  • A Perfect Storm
  • Bedazzled
  • Charlie's Angels
  • Se7en
  • The Complete Superman Collection


Feel free to add to the list.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline benny

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,800
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2001 at 04:14 AM »
pls. add Thomas The Tank Engine


The Superman dvds do not have RCE (as reported in the other forums), even if some etailers like Amazon say so.

Offline noel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Hello!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2001 at 07:28 PM »
does anybody know if the toshiba dv515 is affected by RCE dvd's? it was originally a region 3 player i just had it modified to play other regions.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline yagballs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2001 at 10:08 PM »
Here's a nice piece of RCE documentation. Also mentions work arounds for the Toshiba models to cope with RCEs and lists other models that are RCE compatible.

http://www.michaeldvd.com.au/Articles/RegionalCodeEnhancement/RCE.asp
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline Phobos

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,448
  • Forum Nazi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #14 on: Jun 11, 2001 at 10:09 PM »
Title Alert:

Finding Forrester is RCE.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline GENDEMMIT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 227
  • Hello!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #15 on: Jun 11, 2001 at 11:09 PM »
Anyone else besides me and gonz who owns a Raite player?  This player can bypass RCE discs by manually selecting the appropriate region, through remote keypresses.  Picture quality is just ok, though.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline gonz

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,988
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #16 on: Jun 12, 2001 at 10:51 AM »
Hi GENDEMMIT!

Do you mean the Raite's picture quality while playing RCE discs, or just the Raite's picture quality in general?
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
It's always darkest just before it gets pitch black.

Offline ako

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Hello!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #17 on: Jun 18, 2001 at 09:09 PM »
hi!
just want 2 ask if u know someone who can convert a dvd player?

thanks! :)
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline GENDEMMIT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 227
  • Hello!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #18 on: Jun 19, 2001 at 03:23 AM »
gonz,

 I meant the picture quality in general.  I've seen players that include some kind of video noise reduction that seems to get rid of the artifacts.  Unfortunately, I don't think the Raite has that.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline gonz

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,988
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #19 on: Jun 19, 2001 at 03:48 AM »
GENDEMMIT -- I'll take your word for it.  Frankly, I wouldn't make the Raite my main player if I could afford something better.  But as a budget alternative that plays any region and many disc types, it rules!
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
It's always darkest just before it gets pitch black.

Offline DVDiva

  • Kapitan
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,052
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #20 on: Jun 19, 2001 at 04:45 AM »
Quote

hi!
just want 2 ask if u know someone who can convert a dvd player?

thanks! :)


hi Ako, welcome to PinoyDVD! There are other threads in the PinoyDVD Home Theater area that may have mention of this, just do a search. Or you could post your inquiry in this thread, which is, incidentally, also in need of replies. ;)

Offline ako

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Hello!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #21 on: Jun 19, 2001 at 08:43 AM »
thanks DVDgurl :)
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline barrid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,264
  • What's on your mind?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #22 on: Jun 27, 2001 at 04:39 PM »
I read the post about the Sony DVD S300. And it got me thinking. Was BUGOY talking about the system bought in the Phil.? Or bought outside P.I.? Kasi I'm considering to buy a HT [Sony DAV S300  or panasonic HT70] pero hindi sa Pinas ha. Anyone here have an idea [recommendation]about the said systems?

 Also, this might be off topic. Pero napansin ko na karamihan yata ng nabibiling DVD player sa Pinas ay puro multi region. Tama ba ang observation ko?
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
There's something to learn everyday

Offline gonz

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,988
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #23 on: Jun 27, 2001 at 09:44 PM »
barrid -- tama ka, 'pre.  Usually kapag bumili ka ng DVD player dito, modified na siya to play discs of any region.  Bihira lang yung region-locked, kagaya ng aking iMac DV.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
It's always darkest just before it gets pitch black.

Offline barrid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,264
  • What's on your mind?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #24 on: Jul 01, 2001 at 05:41 PM »
Hi GONZ,

 Thanks for confirming about my observation.

 Just for curiousity, mayroon ba sa inyong nag experiment na mag saksak ng R3 disc sa legit R1 player? At kung anong nangyari. Naisip ko lang kasi na baka sa R1 disc lang mahigpit na ipinatutupad ang Regional coding at hindi sa R3.Tulad na lang sa nabasa ko sa Tagalog DVD na R3disc pero nagamit sa R1 player. Maaring exception yun. Pero anong malay natin kung ang mga manufacturer ng R3 disc ay hindi gumagamit ng RC. Isa pa, paano nalalaman kung ano ang RC ng disc kung nakasaksak sa multi regional player? Curious lang talaga ako.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
There's something to learn everyday

Offline viper

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,895
  • i took the money and ran . . . . but now I'm back
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #25 on: Jul 02, 2001 at 05:12 AM »

Quote

 ¬†Just for curiousity, mayroon ba sa inyong nag experiment na mag saksak ng R3 disc sa legit R1 player? At kung anong nangyari. Naisip ko lang kasi na baka sa R1 disc lang mahigpit na ipinatutupad ang Regional coding at hindi sa R3.Tulad na lang sa nabasa ko sa Tagalog DVD na R3disc pero nagamit sa R1 player. Maaring exception yun. Pero anong malay natin kung ang mga manufacturer ng R3 disc ay hindi gumagamit ng RC. Isa pa, paano nalalaman kung ano ang RC ng disc kung nakasaksak sa multi regional player? Curious lang talaga ako.


I happen to surf into a US DVD rental site that offers R3 and R2 disks for rent. To complement this line, they also rents out multi-region and region specific players. Therefore, I believe that players available in the US are also region locked. A typical US DVD afficionado would not have a need for multi-region players since majority of the releases are released in R1 with a very few and specific exceptions like Citizen Kane and Dune (extended version) which as of now is yet to be released in R1.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline gonz

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,988
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #26 on: Jul 02, 2001 at 10:36 AM »

Quote
Just for curiousity, mayroon ba sa inyong nag experiment na mag saksak ng R3 disc sa legit R1 player? At kung anong nangyari.

Yup, I tried to insert several R3s (The Matrix, X-Files the Movie) into my R1-only iMac DV.  Each time I would get a message asking me if I would like to switch the region setting on my DVD-ROM drive from R1 to R3.  On most DVD-ROM drives, you only get the chance to switch regions 5 times.  After that, the last region in which you were set will become permanent (set in the drive's ROM unless it is reset, which can only be done by the manufacturer).

I don't have an R1 set-top player, but I assume inserting an R3 disc will produce no effect; it won't play.  But like you said, malay natin?  ;)
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »
It's always darkest just before it gets pitch black.

Offline Kahon

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1,253
  • Hmpppp!!!!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #27 on: Jul 02, 2001 at 06:24 PM »
ang sabi nila if you put in a wrong disk in a region-locked player the screen would display a map of the world with the corresponding region assignments
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline jeppoy

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 147
  • Hello!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #28 on: Jul 11, 2001 at 04:17 AM »
any idea about my sony dvd model dvp-k350?
sony philippines told me that it can play multi region
and rce disk. m just not so sure if it could.
« Last Edit: Jan 01, 1970 at 08:00 AM by 1016344800 »

Offline benny

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 2,800
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #29 on: Oct 22, 2001 at 08:27 PM »
Rewind has updated their list of confirmed titles with RCE:

6th Day (The)
All The Pretty Horses
Brothers (The)
Charlie's Angels
Fail Safe*  (*awaiting confirmation)
Finding Forester
Joe Dirt
Hollow Man
Knight's Tale (A)
Patriot (The)
Saving Silverman
Snatch
South Park : Chefs Experience
South Park : Xmas in South Park
Thomas Tank & Magic Railroad
Tomcats
Urban Legend Final Cut

Hope this helps.

Add to the list:
Final Fantasy
The Animal* (*awaiting confirmation)