Author Topic: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement  (Read 32878 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bunkieboy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,400
  • WHAT'S YOUR DYSFUNCTION?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:RCE in R1 Spiderman, Enough and Mr. Deeds
« Reply #90 on: Nov 07, 2002 at 03:27 PM »
thats good to hear that it played on your pioneer. what model are you using? i also ordered an r1 copy of spiderman. sayang if it doesn't play on my unit

Offline cbs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 222
  • Don't be so humble. You are not that great.(GMeir)
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #91 on: Nov 11, 2002 at 02:48 PM »
I was wondering if anyone could help me.

I own a sony dvd player (region 1) and am planning to have it modified into a multi-region player. It really becomes burdensome to always buy DVDs in the US (which is more expensive). :'(

I hope you guys can let me know where and roughly how much it would cost me to do this.

Thanks in advance! :D

Offline Mo®pHeOu$

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,639
  • GO GREEN: LET'S DO OUR SHARE IN SAVING OUR PLANET
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #92 on: Nov 11, 2002 at 06:07 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D

cbs

Welcome to PinoyDVD!

You can check out these folder  Sources

Maraming nakapost na inquiries dun regarding conversion to multiregion.  

or if you like you can go to VCDhelp.com and check if they have the DVD h*ck for the model of your sony DVD player.  

hope this helps.

good luck. ;)

Offline comecum

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #93 on: Nov 13, 2002 at 08:43 PM »
Ghost of Mars R1 RCE works fine on my new Sony DVP-NS905 (codefree) player code "2" since I bought here in Switzerland.

Offline mchammer888

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • I'm a llama!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #94 on: Nov 14, 2002 at 08:33 PM »
how about players like Pensonic, Promac and others Can it play DVDs with RCE?
Take a risk.....
Dare to move....
Love is a leap of Faith....
-A Walk To Remember

Offline cbs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 222
  • Don't be so humble. You are not that great.(GMeir)
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #95 on: Nov 15, 2002 at 10:09 AM »
Thanks Morpheous!

I did check the links you provided and I am more enlightened now! I really appreciate your help!

-CBS


Offline rafgar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 689
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:RCE in R1 Spiderman, Enough and Mr. Deeds
« Reply #96 on: Dec 02, 2002 at 08:50 AM »
Just received this from DVD talk:




 
CONFIRMED RCE: Men In Black II

Columbia Tri-Star continues to put RCE on all their major titles. We've received MANY reports that Men In Black II does infact have RCE. Although we don't know for sure yet, we fully expect xXx to have RCE and possibly Stuart Little 2, we'll test both discs when we get them and let you know one way or another!

 

Offline Macross

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 335
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:RCE in R1 Spiderman, Enough and Mr. Deeds
« Reply #97 on: Dec 11, 2002 at 03:21 PM »
any idea whether RCE titles such as spider-man R1 could be played in SONY DVD players bought here in philippines?  at present i dont have any RCE titles.


Offline tABs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 248
  • Last Man Standing
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #98 on: Dec 20, 2002 at 12:15 PM »
bro comecum,

u said ur player is an R2 coded but it played R1 RCE,
my players are sony dvp-ns700v & ns305, bought here in saudi (also included in region 2). both of which are proven to play R1s but yet to test it with R1/RCE...
i played the R1 Matrix and was able to access the special features (on both players).
i just hope i have the same luck as yours.... ::)
     
                             

Offline levi

  • Konsehal
  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 5,601
  • Sevilla and Sons Sausages
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #99 on: Jun 18, 2003 at 01:09 AM »
bump for new members

Offline aligonzales

  • Trade Count: (+11)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 244
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #100 on: Jun 20, 2003 at 11:22 AM »
DVD CONVERSION!

I called up Pioneer Service Ctr  in Alabang. They referred a guy named Mike Hernandez. He's the one modifying their Pinoeer DVD's. Blims in Glorietta said the same thing, a certain Mike Hernandez converts DVD players to make them code free. For more info, ask Blims or Pioneer how to contact Mr. Hernandez. He does home service daw  8)

For those who want to buy new players, I suggest find RCE discs, and bring them with yo when you buy your DVD player so you can test if the player plays RCE discs  8)
« Last Edit: Jun 20, 2003 at 11:26 AM by aligonzales »

Offline jonster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 271
  • Bring me to life.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:RCE in R1 Spiderman, Enough and Mr. Deeds
« Reply #101 on: Jun 20, 2003 at 12:42 PM »
any idea whether RCE titles such as spider-man R1 could be played in SONY DVD players bought here in philippines?  at present i dont have any RCE titles.


My brod's spiderman r1 played in my sony dvd player.  Mine is Sony S345. ;D
I'm my own worst enemy

Offline JdelaCruz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 435
  • Bayan ni Juan
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #102 on: Jun 27, 2003 at 03:19 PM »
From DVDtalk.com:

Q: Which players pass the RCE Test and can play RCE DVDs?
A: Here's a list:

Accoustic Solutions DVD 551
Afreey LD2060
Arcam DV-88
Bush 2004
Denon 2000
Denon 2500
Denon 3000
Denon 3700
Denon 5000
Digitron DVS360
Encore DV450
Grunding GDV210A
Hitachi DV-K2
JVC XV-S500/502
JVC 501
JVC 505
JVC 511
JVC 515
JVC 521
JVC 522
JVC 523
JVC 555
JVC 557
JVC 701
JVC 721
JVC 723
JVC K503
JVC TH-A10R
Kenwood 9010
LG 3200
LG 3350
Malata DVP-520 Marantz 890
Nakamichi 10
Neotek DV3000
Neotek DV3500
Panasonic 130
Panasonic 150
Panasonic 160
Panasonic 350
Panasonic 360
Panasonic 560
Panasonic A7
Panasonic L-50
Panasonic LV55
Panasonic LV75
Panasonic PV55
Panasonic RV20
Panasonic RV40
Panasonic RV60
Panasonic SC-HT80
Panasonic SC-PM08
Philips 705
Philips 710
Philips 711
Philips 730
Philips 735
Philips 750
Philips 910
Philips 930
Philips 935
Philips 950
Philips 955
Philips Q50
Pioneer NS-DV77
Pioneer 302
Pioneer 414
Pioneer 505
Pioneer 515
Pioneer 525
Pioneer 530
Pioneer 535
Pioneer 606
Pioneer 626D
Pioneer 636D
Pioneer 7003
Pioneer 717
Pioneer 727
 Pioneer 737
Pioneer DV-05 Elite
Pioneer DV-F07Elite
Pioneer DVL-888
Pioneer DVL-909
Pioneer DVL-91
Pioneer DVL-919E
Pioneer DVS-5
Pioneer LC10
Pioneer NS-DV1
Pioneer NS-DV55
Pioneer PDV10
Revoy 2200 R
Samsung 511
Samsung 611
Samsung 707
Samsung 709
Samsung 711
Samsung 807
Samsung 808K
Samsung 907
Samsung 909
Sharp 560H
Sharp 600
Sharp 660
Sharp 700
Sharp 760
Sharp L70
Sony 3000
Sony 315
Sony 325
Sony 335
Sony 336
Sony 525D
Sony 530D
Sony 535
Sony 536
Sony 550D
Sony 7000
Sony 705
Sony 715
Sony 725D
Sony 735
Sony 7700
Sony 9000
Sony AV6
Sony CX850D
Sony F11
Sony FX1
Sony K303
Teac 1000
Teac 1050
Thomson 3300
Thomson 3600
Toshiba 1009*
Toshiba 100E*
Toshiba 200E*
Toshiba 2109*
Toshiba 3107*
Toshiba 3109*
Toshiba SD9000*
Wharfedale M5
Yamaha 700
Yamaha 795
*  with intervention they play



Offline jimmylr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 188
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #103 on: Jun 27, 2003 at 05:53 PM »
if you bought a region free Pioneer DVD player locally, most probably it's RCE free too. My unit is not in the list but I was able to play the spiderman r1 version without any problem.
 ;) :D ;)

Offline T-850

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 608
  • you are TERMINATED!!!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #104 on: Feb 11, 2004 at 10:39 AM »
i think the RCE is a big fat joke!  >:(

basically its all about taste and preferences and most or us prefer R1s therefore the R1 market is more prfitable!  :P

Offline stannum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 193
  • Huh? Me, a collector?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #105 on: Jun 24, 2004 at 05:17 PM »
Does anyone here know if the non-Superbit edition of Labyrinth (David Bowie/Jennifer Connelly) has RCE?  ??? My American Home player is multi-region, but the service center techs said they hadn't tested the model with RCE disks. Darn Columbia/Tristar ...


EDIT (7.12.04): Good news for Labyrinth fans like me ... no RCE was found after actual testing. ;D
« Last Edit: Jul 12, 2004 at 09:05 AM by stannum »
Je ne regrette rien.

Offline cherubrock

  • Trade Count: (+25)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 538
  • use soap
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #106 on: Jul 22, 2004 at 12:02 AM »
                                           

I haven't seen it myself, but this is supposedly what flashes on your screen if you try playing an RCE disc on a region-free player..

Personally I think RCE is unnecessary step taken by the studios (esp. Columbia/Tristar) because it "punishes" those who patronize the real thing. I had thought in the past that they had abandoned the idea, seeing as to how futile it was, but apparently it's back with a vengeance!  >:( Haven't really been affected yet though, and I'm hoping to never have to worry 'bout it.  8)

Offline tanrover

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
RCE enabled 'packaging'
« Reply #107 on: Dec 29, 2004 at 01:23 PM »
does RCE enabled discs identify it as such on the packaging of the DVD?

Offline cherubrock

  • Trade Count: (+25)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 538
  • use soap
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: RCE enabled 'packaging'
« Reply #108 on: Jan 16, 2005 at 12:15 PM »
does RCE enabled discs identify it as such on the packaging of the DVD?

No, but there are titles listed here on this thread, or links to other discussions on the topic. At the moment, only Columbia-Tristar is actively promoting this feature.  ;D

Offline digitalprincess

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • BITBLASTERSDVD.COM
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #109 on: Jan 30, 2005 at 02:20 AM »
Anyone who goes to Amazon.com often already knows about this, but Warner Bros. and Columbia have been outfitting their newer DVDs with RCEs that prevent them from playing on Region-Free DVDs...has anyone here already been affected by this?

If you have a dvd and want to back up it to play in your player.  Try DVDFAB, it will rip and burn your dvd, then you have a all region back up.
I had troubles with the Forgotten, Resident Evil, Little Black Book and The Punisher...backuping my collection, these dvd's were able to back up
by this software.   Also, if you cant back up it...try this two combination...they go hand in hand;  ANYDVD AND CLONEDVD2...its a free trial ware, so
is DVDFAB.

Hope i help some of you.

Offline Mr. Hankey

  • Kapitan
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,289
  • Howdy Ho!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 4
Re: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #110 on: Feb 11, 2005 at 12:25 AM »
I made a strange discovery today: Columbia Tri-Star/Sony's RCE has actually changed over the past year.

I'm referring to R1 discs played on R3 (converted) players.

Head in the Clouds (release date 1/25/2005) does NOT play on a converted 1 year old Samsung player, but plays on a 4 year old Sony player.

In the Cut (release date 2/10/2004), does not play on either player.

So... RCE actually got LESS STRICT this year?

Weird. Maybe Sony's trying to make their OWN converted R3 players capable of playing RCE discs from other regions to boost their OWN player sales.

Shrewd business move!  ;D
Mr. Hankey the Christmas Poo... He loves me, I love you...

Offline cherubrock

  • Trade Count: (+25)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 538
  • use soap
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: RCE: Regional Coding Enhancement
« Reply #111 on: Feb 17, 2005 at 10:27 PM »
^ on the flipside, it's Columbia/Tristar that has the most R3 discs (at least in my experience) that play on my R1-locked Sony player.. Weird nga.  ???

Offline barracuda

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: RCE enabled 'packaging'
« Reply #112 on: Nov 14, 2005 at 09:24 AM »
At the moment, only Columbia-Tristar is actively promoting this feature.  ;D

I just discovered that my Princess Bride R1, an MGM title, has RCE-like encoding-- my multi-region player, a Pioneer, would not accept the DVD saying that the region settings do not match then ejects the DVD (a map similar to RCE-encoded DVD's does not appear).  Apparently, one of MGM's Japanese manufacturer put in RCE-like encoding on some titles but removed it after the first-press when MGM found out.  So, I guess my Princess Bride R1 is a first-press DVD from this Japanese manufacturer.

BTW, I got the player to accept the DVD after putting in a RCE-free R1 disc.