Author Topic: new ext. dvd writer..whatz next?  (Read 5969 times)

Offline strangebrew

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
new ext. dvd writer..whatz next?
« on: Aug 14, 2006 at 06:30 PM »
sensya na...what will i do now? im basically new to dvd writing and havent had the slightest idea about it..ive a new lite on shw 1635sx..anong compatible na dvd-rw sa writer ko? mostly kasi ang ilalagay ko ang mga word files, ilang mp3's at ilang flv files (grabbed youtube vids). what are the basic things that i need to know when writing to dvd-rw discs? please enlighten me  ???

Offline SPaCeMaN SPiFF

• PinoyDVD Legend
  • Liked:
Re: new ext. dvd writer..whatz next?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 14, 2006 at 09:17 PM »
nothing... if you have burned CDs before, you will do the exact same thing... 'cept this time you can now cram about 7 times more stuff per disc.  ;D

as for compatible media... you can burn on anything BUT DVD-RAM...  ;D

since this an external drive.. i suggest you experiment on different burning speeds until you find one is error-free and produces the best compatibility in wherever you will be using the dvds you burn (like set top players and such.) start with the slowest, then work your way up. if you have access to -RW media... best to use those for this "trail and error" test.  ;)
« Last Edit: Aug 15, 2006 at 12:12 AM by SPaCeMaN SPiFF »

Offline strangebrew

• Apprentice
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: Aug 14, 2006 at 10:02 PM »
ok..how would i do that? like i start buying generic dvd's and see which works and which doesnt? what are those region stuff and softwares/codecs blah blah?i couldnt relate to what you guys are talking about i.e. dvd-r and dvd+r  threads.. it's like seeing japanese characters for the first time  ;D anyway, thanks for your response. i appreciate it  ;)

Offline strangebrew

• Apprentice
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: Aug 14, 2006 at 10:37 PM »