Author Topic: How to add an equalizer.  (Read 1831 times)

Offline newbie pa rin

• Trade Count: (+10)
  • DVD Addict
  • Hi, newbie here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 19
How to add an equalizer.
« on: Sep 29, 2006 at 09:03 AM »
Guys can you help me on this.

I'm planning to add an equalizer on my setup.

My questions are what do I need to look for in an equalizer?
Whats the wattage preference and so on?
Can you recommend a brand?
Another thing is how do I connect the equalizer to my receiver and speaker?

Im currently using a coax/optic connection.
My grears are
B&W 602S3
B&W LCR60
HK 235
Klipsch RSW10
Pioneer speakers for surround

TIA.
Where there is no vision, the people perish

Offline RU9

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • DVD Addict
  • “While we have time, let us do good”
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 4
Re: How to add an equalizer.
« Reply #1 on: Sep 29, 2006 at 10:00 AM »

Offline Abad Santos 7

• Trade Count: (+24)
  • Collector
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 17
« Reply #2 on: Sep 29, 2006 at 12:58 PM »
For a 5 channel set-up you cannot add an equalizer just to boost certain frequency.

It can only use for a 2 channel audio and can only use the analog input of your receiver.

At any rate by using the analog input, an equilizer will alter the audio input that will come-
in from the source to your receiver processor thus, it will not do the decoding....

I wonder why you are still needs an equalizer?  You have a very good set-up....I think
focus maybe on room acoustics first, speaker placement, avr parameter adjustments....

Cheers.

Offline newbie pa rin

• DVD Addict
  • Hi, newbie here!
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: Sep 29, 2006 at 06:09 PM »
Thanks for the link and replies sirs.

Offline stereophile

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • What matters is in the groove...
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
« Reply #4 on: Oct 02, 2006 at 07:42 AM »
The use of an equalizer for two channel audio isn't as popular as it used to be in years gone by.