Author Topic: Online DVD Rental  (Read 1522 times)

Offline FlixOnline

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Online DVD Rental
« on: Jan 12, 2011 at 09:39 PM »
Hi Guys! Im a newbie here. I am seriously considering on opening a Online Movie Rental similar to Netflix in the US, Quickflix in Australia or Lovefilm in the UK. Does anyone know a DVD distributor in the Philippines? Will Region 1 DVDs imported from the US play here in the Philippines? Are DVD players in the Philippines play only Region 3 DVDs? I also plan to carry Blu-ray which has no problem with Region coding with the US.

I will have my own courrier deliver and pick up the movies. I plan to start with selected areas only --- namely Legaspi Village, Salcedo Village, Rockwell Center, Bonifacio Global City, Ortigas Center, Eastwood City, Mandaluyong and other Hi-Rise developments.

The only thing stopping me is the Region 1 and Region 3 issues. Prices of Region 1 DVDs in the US drastically goes down after 2 weeks from release date abnd even lowest after 28 days. I plan on having New Releases every week with a 2 weeks delay from the actual release date in the US. This way I can compete on prices against pirated DVDs.

Quickflix   http://www.quickflix.com.au/

Netflix     http://www.netflix.com/

Lovefilm   http://www.lovefilm.com/learn/howitworks.html
« Last Edit: Jan 12, 2011 at 09:56 PM by FlixOnline »

Offline Mr. Hankey

• Kapitan
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • Howdy Ho!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 20
Re: Online DVD Rental
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13, 2011 at 09:45 AM »
Most but not all current DVD players purchased here have multiregion capabilities. However, I will note that my father recently purchased two separate, different branded generic players that have issues playing certain Region 1 DVDs.