Author Topic: 3D Media Player  (Read 9375 times)

Offline GTdiver

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Collector
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
3D Media Player
« on: Jun 13, 2011 at 09:40 AM »
I'm new to the 3D technology.  I need help on choosing the right 3D media player to buy. 

Aside from the popcorn hour A210, can anyone recommend another 3D media player?  The cheaper the better.

If you can site the reason on you recommendation then the better.  I have no clue on this.  I only know that I need an HD 1.4 cable.

Thanks

Offline GTdiver

• Collector
  • Liked:
Re: 3D Media Player
« Reply #1 on: Jun 13, 2011 at 11:07 AM »
Sorry for the double post! It was unintentional. Had internet problems that time. Mods please delete one post. Thanks

Offline scifi-fan

• Trade Count: (+11)
  • DVD Addict
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 42
« Reply #2 on: Jun 13, 2011 at 11:28 AM »
Almost every media player now can play back 3D MKV files.

The difference with the Popcorn Hour is that it supports the official Matroska standard for properly making one without going through a lot of caveats like manually switching the 3D display to right mode (2D, 3D SBS, 3D TAB).

This means if you have a 3D MKV file, the media player will send the proper signaling via HDMI across the chain to tell the 3D display to switch to the proper mode (Side by side or Top and Bottom). This doesn't need HDMI 1.4

There is currently no media player that can handle true 3d bluray backups. This requires the player to be able to decode 2 x 1080p streams (also called 4k resolution). The current set of media players can only output 2 x 720p streams + HD Audio.

If you require HD Audio capability, you will also need an AVR that supports "3D HDMI Passthrough mode" without it, you're limited to just playing back standard Dolby & DTS audio tracks within the movie.

Offline GTdiver

• Collector
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: Jun 13, 2011 at 12:13 PM »
Almost every media player now can play back 3D MKV files.