Author Topic: .mkv or blu ray  (Read 3824 times)

Offline Dollarman

• Trade Count: (+43)
  • DVD Addict
  • forever noob
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 6
.mkv or blu ray
« on: Dec 07, 2012 at 02:04 PM »
first off, a few disclaimers: im not promoting piracy, im still new to the whole ht scene and if its not allowed to post here or the wrong section pls feel free to delete or move.

my question is, is there a huge diff between a 2gb, 12gb, 20gb .mkv files with the original bd in terms of pq and sound quality? my cousin has a 8gb .mkv file of a certain movie and the pq was nice and to top it off the audio says 6ch aac or something...we played it on his htib and the audio was muddy but surround. told him ive ordered a couple of bd here in the marketplace and cant wait to try them out... will i be disappointed or will i see a diff sa quality?
Ref3A MM de Capo BE
REGA Elex-r
SL1200 MK3
Yaqin VK2100
Onkyo 818
Panasonic AE8000
Polk Audio
SVS

Offline Timithekid

• Trade Count: (+26)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • Peace out! :)
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 16
Re: .mkv or blu ray
« Reply #1 on: Dec 07, 2012 at 02:14 PM »
first off, a few disclaimers: im not promoting piracy, im still new to the whole ht scene and if its not allowed to post here or the wrong section pls feel free to delete or move.

my question is, is there a huge diff between a 2gb, 12gb, 20gb .mkv files with the original bd in terms of pq and sound quality? my cousin has a 8gb .mkv file of a certain movie and the pq was nice and to top it off the audio says 6ch aac or something...we played it on his htib and the audio was muddy but surround. told him ive ordered a couple of bd here in the marketplace and cant wait to try them out... will i be disappointed or will i see a diff sa quality?

IMHO its night and day difference, if you check the resolution of some mkv's, although advertised as 1080p, its actully 800 or less.  Those that are encoded with dts-ma have a size of 45G and up.
PS51E550
BD5500
Marantz 5007/DV500