Author Topic: Cignal Fibr  (Read 34115 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Cignal Fibr
« on: May 22, 2013 at 11:44 PM »
I would like to start a new thread based on Cignal's new fiber optic tv distribution in cooperation with PLDT's Fiber Optic Internet to distinguish this from the satellite distribution. Most Cignal Fibr topics should be discussed here.
Source: http://pldthome.com/surf/fibr/cignal

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013 at 11:47 PM »
A question to those who already have this, what location are you in and what should I do to get fiber optics in my area? According to people at tipid pc, pldt is offering fiber optics even if their village is not listed on the website and there's even a plan 1299 with 1.5mbps.

Offline Blu-devil

  • Trade Count: (+68)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 899
  • The Bible, The Worlds Most Famous Work of Fiction
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 2
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2013 at 01:07 AM »
1300 peso for 1.5MBPS are they taking the piss? I get 100MBPS for not much more than than, and it gets upgraded to 120MBPS in 3 months for nothing. I have a dongle that is 4 times faster than than.
Denon AVR-4400H: Denon PMA520AE: DMP-UB400: Epson EH-TW9400: Jamo 7.1.4 Atmos Speakers: 135” screen

Offline digitallg10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Please be kind.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2013 at 08:50 AM »
1300 peso for 1.5MBPS are they taking the piss? I get 100MBPS for not much more than than, and it gets upgraded to 120MBPS in 3 months for nothing. I have a dongle that is 4 times faster than than.

I assume nasa UK ka po.

Dito sa pinas we barely get that kind of speed kasi sobrang greedy ng mga ISP dito. Probably 10-20 yrs from now pa namin matitikman ang MURA at Mabilis na internet. hehehe.

Kakainggit lang sa mga developed na countries kasi sobrang bilis ng internet nila -__-, sample na lang ung GoogleFibr. They are offering free internet for life for 1 time payment.


Anyway I think this thread is intended for Cignal Fibr so chow :) O0 O0 O0


Offline pentium4

  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 882
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2013 at 11:16 AM »
Cignal on fibr is nothing different compared to the satellite based thing...
aside from the physical dish that is not present on fibr subs.

fibr is available on select areas for now... it is mostly allocated to high end subd due to the higher subscription fee.

Cignal on fibr is the best option for Condo and MDU's

Offline jambam

  • Trade Count: (+51)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 870
  • I love Tech toys
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 12
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2013 at 11:34 AM »
Cignal on fibr is nothing different compared to the satellite based thing...
aside from the physical dish that is not present on fibr subs.

fibr is available on select areas for now... it is mostly allocated to high end subd due to the higher subscription fee.

Cignal on fibr is the best option for Condo and MDU's

With fiber cignal I should be immune to the outages due to rain or other weather disturbances that may affect a satellite signal .

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2013 at 11:49 AM »
Cignal on fibr is nothing different compared to the satellite based thing...
aside from the physical dish that is not present on fibr subs.

fibr is available on select areas for now... it is mostly allocated to high end subd due to the higher subscription fee.

Cignal on fibr is the best option for Condo and MDU's

Not really. There's also Fibr in some places even though they're not listed on the website. Cignal on Fiber is better than the satellite one since it won't get affected by weather right?

Offline skooter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 498
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2013 at 01:41 PM »
sat. dish vs. iptv w/c has the better PQ?

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2013 at 01:58 PM »
sat. dish vs. iptv w/c has the better PQ?

Hindi ata po iptv Ito. Naka distribute po ang mga content through a fiber optic wire instead of coax so it's not reall iptv because it's not distributed through the Internet. Anyway fiber optic, satellite, cable and iptv pq are the same. Fiber optic has less interference unlike satellite (rain, storms) or cable (toasters, signals) so fiber optics is more reliable. Correct me if I'm wrong with anything.

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2013 at 02:10 PM »
1300 peso for 1.5MBPS are they taking the piss? I get 100MBPS for not much more than than, and it gets upgraded to 120MBPS in 3 months for nothing. I have a dongle that is 4 times faster than than.

5000 pesos for both 8mbps and all Cignal channels. That's good enough for the Phil's but I know other countries get higher speeds for cheaper.

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2013 at 02:12 PM »
sat. dish vs. iptv w/c has the better PQ?
I'm not sure if it's iptv like AT&T unverse or not iptv like fios http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Verizon_FiOS
Sir Pentium, can you clarify?

Offline skooter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 498
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2013 at 02:44 PM »
sir zoidar..pldt fibr services is actually a high speed broadband internet lol...

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2013 at 03:14 PM »
sir zoidar..pldt fibr services is actually a high speed broadband internet lol...

I know, sir. But I'm not sure if the Cignal over Fiber is iptv or not.

Offline pentium4

  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 882
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2013 at 09:19 PM »
it is IPTV

and it is not immune to weather disturbance as well.
but, it will be almost zero rain fade compared to satellite based at home because you will be getting direct from the big dish from the earth station.

Offline zoidar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2013 at 11:34 PM »
it is IPTV

and it is not immune to weather disturbance as well.
but, it will be almost zero rain fade compared to satellite based at home because you will be getting direct from the big dish from the earth station.
Same quality, right? Except for the rain fade

Offline pentium4

  • Trade Count: (+48)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 882
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2013 at 11:48 AM »
yes, but we cannot tell how promising this fibr is. but, I believe it is much better than the current dsl speeds nowadays.

Offline JayRob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 44
  • Please be kind.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #16 on: May 26, 2013 at 02:51 PM »
This is so damn expensive. Entry level is 5K! Can go as much as 20K! Hell no! My sky broadband is already fast enough at 999 per month. Fibr is an impractical luxury.hehe

Offline digitallg10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Please be kind.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #17 on: May 27, 2013 at 09:13 AM »
This is so damn expensive. Entry level is 5K! Can go as much as 20K! Hell no! My sky broadband is already fast enough at 999 per month. Fibr is an impractical luxury.hehe

PLDT kasi eh. sobrang tinitipid nila sa speed ang mga subs. PLDT myDSL subscriber ako, dating plan999(1.5MB)+700 for landline=P1699, until they offered me the PLDT telpad(2MB)+landline=P2000. And I noticed na mas mabilis ung dati kong plan compare sa new plan ko. though sa speed test 2mb nalabas.

Mas maganda ang plans ng globe, ung P2000 ko na PLDT(2mb) ang katumbas nun sa globe 3mb(P1599) / 5mb(2399) -___- . ang problema walang line ng globe samin :(


Offline ≧◉◡◉≦xrampage≧◉◡◉≦

  • Trade Count: (+26)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,814
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #18 on: Jun 04, 2013 at 07:53 AM »
PLDT kasi eh. sobrang tinitipid nila sa speed ang mga subs. PLDT myDSL subscriber ako, dating plan999(1.5MB)+700 for landline=P1699, until they offered me the PLDT telpad(2MB)+landline=P2000. And I noticed na mas mabilis ung dati kong plan compare sa new plan ko. though sa speed test 2mb nalabas.

Mas maganda ang plans ng globe, ung P2000 ko na PLDT(2mb) ang katumbas nun sa globe 3mb(P1599) / 5mb(2399) -___- . ang problema walang line ng globe samin :(



Cons of globe with CAP PLDT no CAP.  ;) ;)
USER HAS BEEN BANNED.

Offline digitallg10

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Please be kind.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #19 on: Jun 04, 2013 at 08:23 AM »
Cons of globe with CAP PLDT no CAP.  ;) ;)

There are 2 categories on Globes plan,

-Consumable Broadband (with CAP)

-Premium Broadband(no CAP)

Offline raptor

  • Trade Count: (+28)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,812
  • Manila Tifosi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 593
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #20 on: Jun 16, 2013 at 11:24 PM »
Cignal Fibr is not IPTV ... similar to cable tv digital, it just happen to use the same physical fiber cable use to deliver both Internet and voice phone service ... hence it is also called triple play (tv, Internet, and phone) ... the three services does not impact each others performance, but of course if there's an issue with the cable you lose all three ... this is a good offering price wise - you'll be paying more if you subscribe separately for digital cable tv, Internet with the bandwidth they are offering, and phone service

Of course we cannot compare it with other countries ... Internet pricing varies radically country to country ... the one from UK is saying that it is too expensive, those in Japan would say that UK price is expensive, and we can say that Internet service in Australia is very expensive ... we should be comparing it with other local companies' offerings, we cannot get the subscription from abroad anyway, unless we migrate
Marantz NR1200, MartinLogan Motion 20 digital audio setup, and Sony A80J

Offline foxez69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #21 on: Jun 22, 2013 at 02:47 AM »
Sayang to.  Nakapagpakabit na kasi kami ng dual def ng Sky.  I was planning to have it cut just to have this. LOL.  Nagworry kasi ako sa Satellite dish dati,e biglang nagkaron ng Dual-def. Tsk tsk.

Note that we are not in the posh villages na nasa list ng PLDT for Fibr.  Dito nga kami sa basag ulo area na maraming tricycle. LOL.  Kung heavy downloader kayo, like me (around 50-100gb of data per week), recommended tong Fibr.

Meron ng nakatry?

Offline heineken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • **
  • Posts: 246
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #22 on: Jun 23, 2013 at 09:37 AM »
wala kami sa list ng area of fibr pero noong nagtanong ako sa PLDT meron na nga daw fibr plans sa amin. just make sure tawagan mo ang pldt fibr csr kasi di naman nila inuupdate yung list nila na supported ng fibr plans.

Offline paolorenzo

  • Trade Count: (+684)
  • DVD Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1,984
  • Triple Double Monster!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 20
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #23 on: Jul 06, 2013 at 04:53 PM »
For Fibr subscribers, how will the fiber cable enter the house?  Di ba meron risk mabasag yung cable when entering the house na walang abang?  Ang abang nang bahay ko is only RG6 cable and 4C telephone wire.

Offline ≧◉◡◉≦xrampage≧◉◡◉≦

  • Trade Count: (+26)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,814
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #24 on: Jul 06, 2013 at 05:01 PM »
For Fibr subscribers, how will the fiber cable enter the house?  Di ba meron risk mabasag yung cable when entering the house na walang abang?  Ang abang nang bahay ko is only RG6 cable and 4C telephone wire.


Bro sa tingin ko gagawan nila ng paraan yan para pumasok sa loob ng bahay mo yung Fibr na di mag kaka problema like yung sa copper di ba pag wala abang sila na din gumagawa paraa. Ussually lahat naman ng bahay wala abang na Fibr now.
USER HAS BEEN BANNED.

Offline raptor

  • Trade Count: (+28)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 3,812
  • Manila Tifosi
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 593
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #25 on: Jul 07, 2013 at 11:38 AM »
For Fibr subscribers, how will the fiber cable enter the house?  Di ba meron risk mabasag yung cable when entering the house na walang abang?  Ang abang nang bahay ko is only RG6 cable and 4C telephone wire.


Backbone is fiber, but they'll likely use copper when it comes to distribution for flexibility ... same thing with networking
Marantz NR1200, MartinLogan Motion 20 digital audio setup, and Sony A80J

Offline ≧◉◡◉≦xrampage≧◉◡◉≦

  • Trade Count: (+26)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 8,814
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #26 on: Jul 07, 2013 at 11:46 AM »
Backbone is fiber, but they'll likely use copper when it comes to distribution for flexibility ... same thing with networking

I think not as the new modem is Fibr connectivity already not copper.

here is their new Fibr modem and the phone line is connected on the modem not with the splitter type.  ;) ;)

USER HAS BEEN BANNED.

Offline jambam

  • Trade Count: (+51)
  • DVD Addict
  • ***
  • Posts: 870
  • I love Tech toys
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 12
Cignal Fibr
« Reply #27 on: Jul 09, 2013 at 07:02 PM »
Yun fiber cable is actually from the modem to the cable post .  For our installation we were given about 100 meters of cable and we had to run it from inside the house until our fence .

Sila naman from our fence nag terminate na sila sa poste.

Offline foxez69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #28 on: Jul 10, 2013 at 05:13 AM »
Kung walang abang yan or any way like padaain sa bintana or anything, bubutasin pader nyo

Offline botse44

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Please be kind.
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Cignal Fibr
« Reply #29 on: Aug 29, 2013 at 01:39 PM »
A question to those who already have this, what location are you in and what should I do to get fiber optics in my area? According to people at tipid pc, pldt is offering fiber optics even if their village is not listed on the website and there's even a plan 1299 with 1.5mbps.

sayang naka bili na ako nang cignal prepaid kit, ang pag ka alam ko na upgrade na ang area ko, may fiber optic na dito, DSl subscriber ako nang PLDT, pero hinde ko pa narinig ang offer na yan, plan 1299 + cignal TV