Author Topic: Passive Preamp Discussion  (Read 1970 times)

Offline wraith

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Passive Preamp Discussion
« on: Dec 16, 2006 at 05:55 AM »
*** please merge with other threads if there is a similar one.  Also, I'm not sure if I should start this thread here, or under the Amplifiers section ***

I would like to start a thread on passive preamps because its application for 2-channel audio use intrigues me.

I'm not an electronics engineer; I just try to understand as much as I can.  Please correct me if there are misconceptions in my thoughts.

Potentially, because of their minimalist design, they are the most un-coloured means of volume control as compared to line-stage preamps that amplify the signal.  Other good points are that they have no need for a power supply, and they can be constructed relatively inexpensively.  These qualities attract me to the idea of using a passive pre.

However, the disadvantage is that because passive pre's are basically a network of resistors, it is resistive by nature.  This will cause impedance mismatches, which may lead to frequency response anomalies, and lack of current to drive the power amps.  This worries me.

For those who have used Passive Pre's, kinldy share your experiences.

Here are the my thoughts/questions.

==========
1.  Resistive Passive Pre's vs. Transformer Volume Controlled (TVC) Passive Pre's

- from my research, TVC's are suppossedly superior because there is no current loss.  Unlike resistive implementations wherein attenuated signal is transformed into heat and loses some current, TVC's simply step-down the voltage using a transformer, but current is preserved.  So is it true that TVC's are superior?  Do TVC's have any audible or electrical disadvantages compared to resistive designs?

==========
2.  The all-important sound