Author Topic: PC LCD to TV?  (Read 1736 times)

Offline mahavishnu

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
PC LCD to TV?
« on: Jan 02, 2007 at 04:27 AM »
Hi, Im a newbie here and i dont know if i posted this under the correct sub-forum. I was wondering if there's a way to use LCD monitors as a TV without using a PC with tv/video card. I just want to plug my console directly on the monitor. Can you DIY your way around this?

I appreciate any inputs  :)

Great forum btw, lots to learn  :)

Offline ericag_ph

• DVD Addict
  • Oompa Loompas rule!!
  • Liked:
Re: PC LCD to TV?
« Reply #1 on: Jan 02, 2007 at 02:14 PM »
You'll probably need a few more devices.

An RF de-modulator with TV tuner  to take input from BNC-75ohm-coax signal to output composite/RCA video and audio. For the cheapest, find a surplus shop.  Also Try Radio Shack or use an old VCR/VHS player (probably the cheapest option). 

Then you need a device to convert RCA video to VGA or DVI.  (try monoprice.com, google the net for this, it exists). 

For audio, connect to an amp or PC speakers that support the input from the de-modulator (RCA).

note:  an RF modulator is the opposite, takes RCA/composite video+audio as input, outputs to BNC-75ohm-coax (usually channel 3 or 4).  Use this to connect a video player (DVD,VHS) to a [really old] TV that only accepts BNC-75ohm-coax as input.

Hi, Im a newbie here and i dont know if i posted this under the correct sub-forum. I was wondering if there's a way to use LCD monitors as a TV without using a PC with tv/video card. I just want to plug my console directly on the monitor. Can you DIY your way around this?

« Last Edit: Jan 02, 2007 at 02:31 PM by ericag_ph »

Offline av_phile1

• Trade Count: (+22)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • Cheers from a movie and music lover
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: Jan 02, 2007 at 04:01 PM »

You mean a game console like the xbox360 or PS3?