Author Topic: A DVD Burner that won't read CDs  (Read 1638 times)

Offline alphazeta

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
A DVD Burner that won't read CDs
« on: Aug 18, 2007 at 08:36 PM »
After trying to recover/extract data in some badly encoded DVDs using ISOBuster, I started to noticing that the DVD burner in my one week old Acer laptop suddenly stopped reading/recognizing all forms of CD media.

To be specific, the damned drive just doesn't recognize any CDs whatsoever. DVD write/read capabilities are still there however, but a non-CD compatible laptop would just look dumb.

I must say that I've had some decent experience in the data recovery field already but this is actually the first time that I actually ran into this kind of mess.

The culprit DVD media was not even that crappy. Some DVD players just wouldn't recognize the disc so I did a software-based recovery initiative which proved to be successful - at the price of my burner's CD compatibility.

Has anyone here experienced this issue already? Can I still do something to save my drive? Or should I really just forget about trying to recover bad DVD discs?

Offline Jett

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Collector
  • Liked:
Re: A DVD Burner that won't read CDs
« Reply #1 on: Jan 19, 2008 at 12:17 AM »

Had a similar problem with a LiteOn drive on my desktop. At first, I had problems burning to some CD-RWs. At some point, it stopped reading CDs and CD-RWs. It still works fine with DVDs though.

Did some research and this appears to be a widespread problem with LiteOn drives.

Offline HouseBum

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • Liked:
Re: A DVD Burner that won't read CDs
« Reply #2 on: Jan 19, 2008 at 04:10 PM »
My LiteOn SHW160PS won't read most CD R media, but reads original audio discs.