Author Topic: What is PDVD's stand on open discussion & trading of MKVs or HD Movie Files?  (Read 4643 times)

Offline ricracer

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Hi! I'm a newbie on HD movies.  I just noticed the open discussion and trading of MKV and HD Movie files in the PDVD website.   I'm confused if it is a form of piracy or not?

What is PDVD's official stand on this issue?

Imagine you can buy a 1TB HD preloaded with hundreds of "freebies" or actually buy the "freebies" separately for a few hundreds bucks.  I'm really not sure if these freebies are photos of famous people, computer programs, pop music or 1080p/720p HD movies.

Thanks!
;)

Offline Darth Fader

• Trade Count: (+7)
  • Apprentice
  • Liked:
Hi! I'm a newbie on HD movies.  I just noticed the open discussion and trading of MKV and HD Movie files in the PDVD website.   I'm confused if it is a form of piracy or not?

What is PDVD's official stand on this issue?

Imagine you can buy a 1TB HD preloaded with hundreds of "freebies" or actually buy the "freebies" separately for a few hundreds bucks.  I'm really not sure if these freebies are photos of famous people, computer programs, pop music or 1080p/720p HD movies.

Thanks!

while searching for answers.. i stumbled upon this.. made me curious as well..

so mkv files are BD rips only?  so BDs are still top of the line when it comes to picture/sound quality?

I've been wondering because a friend of mine is saying he has a HD format of StarWars movies (in mkv daw).  that was actually the first time I heard about mkv files and so i got curious..

StarWars (OTC/Prequel) Movies don't have BD versions yet... how come he has an HD quality version?

so it made me wonder.. are there other HD formats equal to or better than BDs?

if mkv files are simply BD rips, am i right to assume that BDs are still the best?

Are these mkv files actually legal copies?

noob here.. hoping to learn more about HD stuff.. Thanks.

Offline Hero33