Author Topic: Panasonic DMP-BD85K Question  (Read 2563 times)

Offline amethyst_arr

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Collector
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Panasonic DMP-BD85K Question
« on: Aug 19, 2010 at 09:22 AM »
hi guys,

need your help. i'm a newbie with blurays and I'm planning to buy this model.

(1) I have an old denion receiver, avr 1907. will i be able to use the digital audio output of this player with my avr? will I be able to enjoy Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD formats?

(2) if i buy a bluray player with HDMI ver1.4, will that work with my panasonic pv8?

thanks in advance.

andrei

Offline ABCmotorparts

• Trade Count: (+13)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 630
Re: Panasonic DMP-BD85K Question
« Reply #1 on: Aug 19, 2010 at 10:59 AM »
That's what I did to may aging Yamaha receiver,
it doesn't have any built in Dolby Decoder then (14 years old)
but has the 6 channel analog output, so I paired it with my aging
Denon AVD2000 Dolby Digital Decoder, it worked well with those Dolby Digital Tracks,
but doesn't have the capability to decode the DTS track of the new DVDs and BD titles,
so what I did was bought the Panasonic DMP-BD80, the older version of the unit that you are planning to get,
luckily, the AVD2000 has a 6 channel analog input, wherein I plugged the 6 channel analog output
of the BD80, now I am enjoying the DTS track encoded in most BD titles, it may downcoded to 5.1
but I really don't mind, its better SQ compared from the sound coming out of the TV (stereo) only,..

Just be sure that the AVR has an 6 channel analog input that can connect to the 6 channel analog out of the BD player, then you set to go...

Offline amethyst_arr

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Collector
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: Aug 19, 2010 at 11:06 AM »
thanks, sir.