Author Topic: Is it safe to connect an 6ohm speaker to 8 ohm per channel receiver/amp?  (Read 3987 times)

Offline forest

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Mga sir,

newbie here, I just bought reciver/amplifier (Konzert AV-300R).
1.My question is: Hindi ba ma-da-damage ang amplier or speaker kung i-connect ko ung Sony component speaker ko rated 6 ohm sa receiver/amplifer ko na 8 ohm per channel?

2.Bumili din kasi ako ng Konzert 5 speaker set (Konzert HT-501) rated 8 ohms per speaker, ano ba mas magandang setup(for sounds and home theater), kelangan ko bang i-series yung dalawa kung extra Sony component speaker(6 ohms) sa front speaker ng Konzert spaeker (8ohm)?
« Last Edit: Dec 13, 2005 at 01:03 PM by forest »

Offline jerix

• Trade Count: (+17)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • got no golden ears...just loving music
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 70
Its not safe-- but if you are sure that you will always be conscious about the mismatch and you will not pump so much power into it, okey lang yan.  ;) the danger lies when you power up with that 6 ohms speaker hooked, baka umusok ang konzert mo. Check also whats the lowest and highest impedance limit of your amp. if it can handle up to 14 ohms then you can connect the 6ohms and 8ohms speakers on series.
Samsung65MU6303/TCL4kPS49TV/OnkSR608/OnkTXNR676/Marantz/Akai/Sansui/PrjEssential-II

Offline forest

• Apprentice
  • Hi, I'm new here!
  • Liked:
my manual only contains this information:

Continous POwer Output (Surround Mode)

Front ........... 80W +  80W (1KHz, THD 0.6%, 8ohms)
Center ......... 80W (1KHz, THD 0.6%, 8ohms)
Surround ..... 80W +  80W (1KHz, THD 0.6%, 8ohms)

Sorry, dont know how to read this...

Offline jerix

• Trade Count: (+17)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • got no golden ears...just loving music
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 70