Author Topic: Newbie and Not-so Noob Thread: Questions (FAQ) on Setting up  (Read 111163 times)

Offline littlebadboy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Apprentice
  • www.motorcycleasia.com
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Re:Newbie Questions ( FAQ )
« Reply #90 on: Oct 11, 2003 at 11:20 PM »
I'm a musician but I don't know much about audio equipment.  I have a 4-track digital recorder which i use whenever a tune comes in mind.  I listen to playback of what I recorded via headphones.  I want to connect my recorder to an amplifier so I can hear what it really sounds like off the headphones.

If I'm on a budget (coz I am just a music hobbyist), what good and cheap stuff (amps and speakers) should I get?  Are those surplus amps mentioned at the other threads good enough for me?  I'm just going to listen to them in my room.  However, I want to listen to my recorded stuff exactly like the way I recorded them so ifI reproduce them, it will sound exactly the way I intended them to be at different sound systems.

thanks in advance!

rtsy

« Reply #91 on: Oct 13, 2003 at 10:20 AM »
If I'm on a budget (coz I am just a music hobbyist), what good and cheap stuff (amps and speakers) should I get?

What's your budget exactly?

May ways to go about your needs.

If you are handy with a soldering iron, get in touch with ArnoldC for the PhP11k 2A3 Single Ended Triode power amp.  Mate that with the ~PhP15k Fostex BS speakers from vintage_dog and you're likely set to forego significant upgrades for years.

Also visit Hyperaudio and Sensible Audio in Makati Cinema square for used stuff.

Make sure you listen before you buy.  The stuff I've mentioned sound very different from each other so you'd have to find what moves you.

Good luck.

Offline slowhand

• PinoyDVD Legend
  • Liked:
« Reply #92 on: Oct 13, 2003 at 11:33 AM »
It can be pretty amazing what a 2.0 sytem can achieve.