Author Topic: SMALL THOUGHTS ON THE BIG PICTURE - PROJECTOR DAYDREAMS!  (Read 658 times)

Offline taurus_cute

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Collector
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
I HAVE been using the Infocus Screenplay 4805 since 2005 and is very gratified with its picture resolution (as utilized permanently with a Denon 2930 DVD and linked with a Kimber Kable HDMI at 720p-WXGA-60hz). But I am needing a new projector for a modestly-sized meeting hall and the Infocus X1 I have could not efficiently met the screen size, the ambient lighting and the native 4:3 picture format it is imbued with.

Hence I started to look this year for a fresh projector which could at least come up with the demands for more lumens and a far better picture that could be given by either 720p or 1080p native pixels & is fixed at 16 X 9 widescreen format. I made a mental preference for the Mitsubishi HC5000 LCD projector. But the local pricing places it at P200,000. When I looked over American internet sellers for its best pricing, the cheapest is the one being offered on eBay at $2,900. I backed off from getting it because the unit is originally a Japanese unit and so all the menus are in Nippongo. Also, I hinged on the peso appreciating to at least P40 to P43 to be able to buy such a high-end model thru buying dollars from Security Bank or Banco De Oro and use that to pay the eBay vendor. I have no over-anxious qualms on ordering projectors this way because I've tried it before with my first DLP and my Bombay-Hindu eBay transactee did served my order and there was just no hassle (thru Western Union, thank God!). But the peso could not seemed to appreciate more and has gone back to around P48 (the bank's selling price) hence I backed off from the Mitsubishi and has realized with this limiting situation that to pursue the Mitsubishi even with its cheaper U.S. price would almost surely put me on a long-term or at least a 6-month bank loan debt.