Author Topic: Any Celestion Fans here ?  (Read 63723 times)

Offline synchro_01

• Trade Count: (+104)
  • PinoyDVD Legend
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 963
Re: Any Celestion Fans here ?
« Reply #120 on: Mar 24, 2013 at 11:46 PM »
Back in the early eighties when I was still tinkering with our old Akai console stereo which have those big as a buddy ref speakers that have tweeters, mids and woofers that effortlessly blares out a wall of sound but barely can put forth a soundstage that one can discern, my Audio standard was very simple...if its loud it must be good. I was lusting for Bose, Cerwin Vega etc but as a high school student I couldn't afford those which are part of my wish list. Someday I said to myself...I'll have my own bad ass stereo system.  That audio standard that I had was literally changed when I had the chance to enter this store in Manila that is a distributor of a then virtually unknown brand to me which was Celestion.  Dont get me wrong, didn't go in that store because of that brand...I saw the big Bose speakers that they had in front that's why I was attracted like a fly to the light.
Once inside its was like a virtual Disneyland to me...901's galore but what immediately caught my attention was this pair of small speakers that was playing music. It's size is downright laughable compared to my reference Akai's  that my parents own. The drivers are puny compared to the 12 inch woofers that I'm used to seeing on a daily basis....but the sound it conveyed was just like no other that I heard back then.  Someday I said again to myself...SL6.